Yankee Springs Recreation Area was once the hunting grounds of the Algonquin Indians and the famous Chieftain, Chief Noonday. The site was established in 1835 and the village was made famous by Yankee Bill Lewis who owned and operated a hotel along the stagecoach run from Kalamazoo to Grand Rapids. The rugged terrain, the bogs and marshes, the lakes and streams, and the unique beauty of the park's 5,200 acres lend itself to many forms of recreation.
A modern campground is located on the shores of beautiful Gun Lake while rustic camping is available at Deep Lake. An equestrian campground and a youth organization campground also are available. Nine lakes are located within the park boundaries providing excellent fishing and water sports of all kinds.
As a year-round park, cross-county skiing on its more than 10 acres of Nordic ski trails, snowmobiling, snowshoeing and ice fishing are all popular winter activities. Three special points of interest in the park are: Devil's Soupbowl, a glacially carved kettle formation, Graves Hill Overlook and The Pines, accessible from the extensive trail systems.
Favorite fairweather activities include 30 miles of hiking trails, 12 miles of challenging mountain bike trails, 9 miles of horseback trails, as well as two public beaches, picnic shelters, and two universally accessible fishing piers one at Gun Lake and one at Deep Lake.
Read an article about the Long Lake Outdoor Center
Make a Tax Deductable Donation to Yankee Springs Recreation Area